Really simple reasons why I loved Paris Air Show

2015 marked the 51st year of the biannual Paris Airshow, and GUESS who was lucky enough to be given the day off for a cheeky little jaunt?!

giphy

If you’d told me 5 years ago that I’d be so excited to go to an air show, I would never have believed you; yet, there I was watching a Dassault Rafale roaring through the skies, making noises comparable to a 6-year-old on Christmas morning. Excited didn’t even cut how I was feeling when I arrived at Paris Orly on Thursday evening, and coupled with being reunited with my bestie for the first time in an entire year, I knew it was going to be a really amazing weekend.

Simple reasons why I really bloody enjoyed my day at the Salon du Bourget:

  • Planes are really big

It’s hard to comprehend when you see them in the sky looking so tiny and peaceful, and then all of a sudden you’re standing next to one and wowwwww you just dread to think how much it weighs like you would not want one of them to roll over your pinkie toe not at all.

  • There were lots of really spinney things

Although my engineer friends did a great job in explaining throughout the day, I just do not pretend understand the mechanisms inside all of these wonderful machines 😦 There is something however unbelievably satisfying about things that spin around really really fast and from an incredibly feline perspective I liked watching them doing their thing round and round and round.

  • Planes make really cool noises

    For real how does it do ittttttttttttt?!?

  • There were other really geeky people

The Generation Airbus team had organised for interns across the group to attend Le Bourget, so there were interns from Defence and Space, Helicopters and Airbus all grouped together with our t-shirts from all across Europe! It was so great to meet some new faces and listen to them geeking about satellites and helicopter blades instead of the usual wing plane stuff (I know soooo boring omg).

  • Planes are really pretty

How has it happened that these enormous metallic objects could possibly look so beautiful?! The flight displays at the Bourget were really impressive, especially when we managed to catch the Patrouille de France later in the day with their red, white and blue smoke all over the place. Definitely my favourite part of the day.

  • I felt really bloody proud

When you’re working in HR at a place like Airbus, you can sometimes feel a bit removed from what we actually do and how clever it is since I’m not actively standing there with a spanner bolting plane parts together. If anything I’m so glad I went to the Bourget just to reconnect a little bit with the overall mission for us as a function, to just manage and develop in the best way we can our wonderful plane makers 🙂

 

Despite my sun burnt arms and blistery feet by the end of the day, I couldn’t think of a better way to finish off my year as an intern at Airbus Group 🙂 If you ever get the opportunity, I couldn’t recommend a visit to Paris Air Show enough!

 

LOGO copy

Signature

What do you think?

