My Year Abroad playlist – Part 2

Part DEUX of my personal Year Abroad playlist – a continuation of the songs that I legit listened to on repeat on my year abroad and those that just transport me back to a treasured time, place and sentiment in Toulouse, France 🙂

SEE PART ONE OF MY YEAR ABROAD PLAYLIST HERE

Kendji Girac – Elle m’a aimé

He’s pretty looking and his song has this Spanishey vibe, what more could you ask for???

Beyoncé – Party ft. J. Cole

This song reminds me of going out with my best girl Laura and our preparation for the Erasmus nights out 🙂 The frantic running around our flat gathering up everything we needed for the night “KEYS! PURSE! WRISTBAND! PHONE! HANG ON WAIT I FORGOT MY LIP GLOSS”. 

OMI – Cheerleader

My Year Abroad playlist WOULD NOT be worth posting without this beauty. The first time I heard Cheerleader was at 7am on a cold Saturday morning with Michelle and Theresa, on our way to ski at Ax-les-Thermes. At the time I was too confused and delirious from being woken up at such an hour to appreciate it, however there is no doubt that it has become perhaps the SINGLE most Toulouse themed song for me, even if I am about 7 plays away from never wanting to hear the word cheerleader ever ever again.

Enrique Iglesias – Bailando (Español) ft. Descemer Bueno, Gente De Zona

The same ski trip with Michelle and Theresa, I was a bit behind on this one as Theresa tells me she was listening to it for months and months in Valencia. For me it was worth the wait ^.^

Major Lazer – Jet Blue Jet (feat. Leftside, GTA, Razz & Biggy)

I downloaded Free The Universe back in February and fell in love. It was hard to pick just one from this album, but I think Jet Blue Jet might only just be my favourite. This album accompanied me through many many getting ready sessions for Friday and Saturday nights out with the interns!

Nicki Minaj – Trini Dem Girls

I found this one through the choreography in the video above – I’m an avid YouTube dance watcher and instantly was amazed with this dance and the song that it also become one of my signature Getting-Ready-Songs. It’s stayed on my phone for the rest of my time in Toulouse and I’m sure I listened to it pretty much everyday on the bus to work.

Drake – Wednesday Night Interlude

EASILY takes me back to being half asleep on the Megabus, back from an amazing weekend in Barcelona for my Mums 50th birthday. Any time I need to fall asleep I put on this album as it’s so chilllllllllll, but particularly like this song as I can (following on from my previous track) imagine some really nice choreography for this; if someone fancies a challenge I would LOVE to see what they come up with!

Major Lazer & DJ Snake – Lean On (feat. MØ)

Who else could this remind me MORE of than my favourite Airbus interns and the great parties we had with this song :’) I remember being at Lubos leaving party (best night ever) and putting this on YouTube and we were all like YASSSS and therefore it probably comes behind Cheerleader in terms of Year Abroad importanceness ❤

Tove Lo – Talking Body

I first heard this song at the gym and it made 3 minutes on the cross trainer slightly more bearable. I had to go home and download it straight away.

Culture Shock – City Lights ft. Bryn Christopher

Chase & Status shared this one on their Twitter account and it became the follow up to Major Lazers album in my notorious summer pre drinks playlist. I forced Georgia to listen to this a good few times, the first being in her funny tiny room all the way out at Faculté de Pharmacie before Stephens leaving party – another fabbb night 🙂

Galantis – Runaway (U & I)

ELECTROBEAAAACH – This song makes me want to cry every time I hear it from pure happiness of this weekend. The DJ’s at the Electrobeach Music Festival in Port Bacares played this a real lot so it has so much euphoric sentimental value attached when I listen to it now.

Armin van Buuren – Ping Pong

I have such a clear memory of this at Electrobeach – IMAGINE – Armin van Buuren, pitch black, every one has one arm in the air moving from side to side with each ping pong noise; I don’t know why but it cracked me up so much and thought it was really really fun 😀
So there you have it! I can’t wait to listen to these songs in the months and years to come and remember all the great times I had with such a lovely bunch of pals in Toulouse.
Were you abroad in 2014/2015??? Let me know your own ultimate Year Abroad songs in a comment, or tweet me @zoe_tay !
A la prochaine,

SignatureLOGO copy

What do you think?

